How I Survived Junior Year 

Yesterday was my last day of junior year. My goodness, it has been quite a journey. I can’t believe the hardest year of high school over. I aced all of my classes except AP chemistry, which I got a B in. So I spent my last day shrieking for joy when I found out my AP lang teacher was rounding my 89.9% to an A-, delivering cards to all my teachers to express my overwhelming gratitude for how much they have taught me this year. I wanted to take some time to explore how much I’ve grown this year, and explain the importance of looking back and saying, “thank you.”

Reflection:

I didn’t know that one day I would think calculus was fun.

I remember struggling so much in math. Freshman year, I had two full blown panic attacks in my Algebra 2 class. I remember going in for the first time, bringing the weight of every test I have ever failed up until that point, saying 3 words that changed my life: I need help. I can’t do this on my own. And I remember my teacher asking me, “With what?” And then bursting into tears, slowly sitting down, and allowing my teacher to sift through my thoughts and pull me on my feet again.

I remember getting pulled in the counseling office. I was told to drop the class. I flipped my hair and left.

The following year didn’t start off much better. On the 5th day of pre-cal, I burst into tears again while asking my teacher questions. He had quite the intimidating demeanor, but I absolutely love him now. With a lot of hard work, I aced math for the first time in my life.

But calculus was a completely different journey. I had such a phenomenal teacher who never ceased to make me laugh. The only time I left class without smiling was when I got a D on the second test. Other than that, I was never afraid to ask questions. My teacher always knew the right things to say, making calculus extremely fun and hard all at the same time. I spent many lunches trying to crack problems on the board with him and overall learned so much. When I found out I was getting an A in calculus, I could barely fathom how I made it this far. So I made him a card, thanking him for being so patient with me.

Throughout this journey, the math teacher I had freshman year was always there for me. I was her T.A this year too, allowing me to give back a little. This year she was retiring, so I made her a jar entitled, “25 Ways You’ve Changed My Life.” I’m going to miss her as a mentor a lot. My journey getting here started with her.


I also didn’t know I would find myself in one of the hardest classes at my school, AP chemistry. That class totally ruined my gpa. But if I had to trade every memory, every morning spent getting my questions answered, every tear, and every guest speaker for a 4.0, I wouldn’t. My teacher was again one of the most amazing human beings on the face of this planet. He was so compassionate. You could tell him anything. I am so grateful I got to have him pour so much into my life. 

I’m so grateful for flying kites in English, biking to school with my Econ teacher, and catching up on homework in history. I’m so thankful for my Econ teacher for letting me push all of the desks in his class aside so I could practice dance turns on finals day. It was so nice to spend my last day delivering cards to my teachers. It was so nice to say, “thank you.” Thank you for believing in me. Thank you for changing my world.

Junior year was really stressful. I didn’t think I would make it. It always seems impossible until it is done. Honestly I think I survived by the pure grace of God. 

Tips For an Incoming Junior

1. If you don’t understand something, ask for help. It is so much easier than waiting until everything has snowballed. 

2. Do not become caught up in perfecting everything. Be grateful for every borderline A or B that comes, because failing tests is not an uncommon practice. 

3. Practice makes perfect, and there is nothing you cannot do.

4. Find a few good friends who will love you for who you are that are just as motivated and driven. Just because your personality is the opposite of theirs, it doesn’t mean you can’t become best friends. 

5. Do what you love. You cannot just do school. Make sure you are taking time to yourself every week to avoid burnout. 

6. Don’t compare your grades to others. I know this one is hard, but you should aim to only be better than you were yesterday, and nothing more. 

7. Sleep. Sleep is great. Don’t procrastinate, and then you will get a lot of it.

8. Study with your friends. If something seems super daunting, conquer it with someone else. Studying for AP chem tests with my friend helped so much. 

9. Pray. Don’t worry about anything, pray about everything. My year would’ve probably gone better if I did this one more often. 

10. Challenge yourself. Taking classes that I loved this year made all the difference, even though they were so hard. 

11. Be open minded. Go to school wanting to learn, and you will. 

12. Plan your studying to keep yourself from being overwhelmed. 

13. Start studying for AP tests as soon as possible. 

14. Know your stengths and weaknesses. Focus on making your weaknesses into strengths.

15. Lastly, have fun. Do things that you never thought were possible. 🙂 

Senior year is going to be so much fun. I only have 4 classes, and I’m taking voice at my community college for a little extra pzazz. I’m going to be dancing again, hopefully, and will be helping lead Christian club at my school. 

I’m so grateful for this year, and even more excited for what is to come. Through it all, I know that I will survive senior year as long as I don’t try to do it all on my own. 🙂 

How did your school year go? Tell me down below! 

Leave a Reply

